NapaCounty DUILawyer.com

Top Ten Questions > From Everyone

9. Can I get a restricted license?

In a typical Napa County adult first DUI case resulting in a DMV suspension, with no allegation of refusal, injury or other aggravating circumstances, most people become eligible for a restricted Class "C" California "work" license following a required 30-day period of suspension by the Napa DMV if certain tasks are accomplished by the driver beforehand.

In a typical second DUI case resulting in a suspension or conviction, there is no possibility of a restricted "work" license (regardless of hardship) for at least one year unless the separate DMV case is litigated successfully. However, if new laws are applicable to certain second and third DUI convictions, an ignition interlock (IID) restricted driver's license may be possible after a 90-day or six-month suspension if certain tasks are accomplished by the driver beforehand. Laws and DMV policies and practice often change, so consult with a Napa County DUI attorney about your individual circumstances.

There are a variety of special rules for minors, commercial drivers, out of state residents, etc. Click on Ten Tips for Getting Your License Back from DMV on this site for a more detailed discussion about getting your license back in many different situations. Consult with a Napa County DUI lawyer about your specific case.

Testimonials

Any result portrayed was dependent on the facts of that case, and the results will differ if based on different facts.

Our DUI Lawyers

Dave Jake Schwartz is an Honors Graduate from UC Hastings Law School, and UC Davis, former Federal Judicial Clerk, and Nationally Qualified Sobriety Tests Practitioner. Member of the California Bar for 30 years, Wine Country resident for over 20 years, handles only DUI cases, including thousands of North Bay DUIs and DMV hearings: first/multiple offenders, minors, seniors, tourists, undocumented immigrants, veterans, probation violations, suspended license, public intoxication, open container, minor in possession, child endangerment, collisions, hit and run, evading, resisting arrest.

Read More >>

Contact

Phone Hours: 6am - 6pm Everyday

Fax Only: (707) 540-6056

Dave Jake Schwartz, PC

California State Bar No. 138607

Wilber Law Offices

My Case

Dave Jake Schwartz